Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

RFID Resonance and addition of a capacitor element

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

Hallo, I am new to COMSOL simulations in the RF section. I am designing a spiral RFID antenna which should have a resonance frequency of 13.56MHz. I have a coil with an inductance of 2.96uH (which i verified using the ac/dc physics and calculation) and I place a parallel capacitor using a lumped element boundary condition. The spiral has 8 turns and is made of stainless steel having an impedance boundary condition and the boundary feed is a lumped boundary with a feed of 3.3V. However, my model returns a resonance at about 800MHz. Does anyone have an insight of what I am doing wrong? My comsol file is attached.

9 Replies Last Post May 17, 2021, 6:20 a.m. EDT
Edgar J. Kaiser Certified Consultant

Posted: 3 years ago May 11, 2021, 8:47 a.m. EDT

The lumped element is an inductor not a capacitor.

-------------------
Edgar J. Kaiser
emPhys Physical Technology
www.emphys.com

Posted: 3 years ago May 11, 2021, 10:04 a.m. EDT

Hi Edgar, so my coil produces the 2.96uH capacitance and the lumped element is a capacitor(I might have mistakenly changed it when I was deleting the mesh). However, if you set it to a capacitor of about 47pF you still do not get resonance at 13.56MHz but at around 800MHz. Something is still wrong?

>The lumped element is an inductor not a capacitor. Hi Edgar, so my coil produces the 2.96uH capacitance and the lumped element is a capacitor(I might have mistakenly changed it when I was deleting the mesh). However, if you set it to a capacitor of about 47pF you still do not get resonance at 13.56MHz but at around 800MHz. Something is still wrong?

Posted: 3 years ago May 11, 2021, 10:47 a.m. EDT