Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

biomedical and comsol

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

Hi there,
I am planning to use comsol for my project in which i have to simulate the forward problem of bioelectromagnetic.
Since i am new to this package, therefore, i have quite a few questions in my mind. I hope you would not mind answering these questions.
If i need to model a 3 or 4 layer spherical head model in comsol, which solver would be the best one, keeping in mind all layers are homogeneous and isotropic and i would be using quasi-static electromagnetic module.
How to define current dipoles within the spherical head model.
Which package would you recommend to import the medical images for 3d head modelling?

Thanks
Salman

2 Replies Last Post Nov 10, 2009, 3:20 a.m. EST
Ivar KJELBERG COMSOL Multiphysics(r) fan, retired, former "Senior Expert" at CSEM SA (CH)

Posted: 1 decade ago Nov 10, 2009, 1:59 a.m. EST
Hi

I can give a few advises to your question:

1) start in 2D until your model is behaving in a way you fully understand (as it computes rapidly), a "axisymmetric" 1/2 of a sphere could be a good starting point.

There are always two issue with symmetry, your geometrie is symmetric, and/or the BC (boundary conditions) are symmetric (or anti-symmetric). If both geometry and BC are symmetric you are lucky you can remain in simplified symmetry modelling, if not you will end up to do a full 3D model.

Note that you cannot copy/symmetry a mesh, as you can with a geometry (unfortunatey) one (false in my view) reason is that the mesh inherits its material ad BC properties from the surfaces it "belongs" to. For me it could still be handy to be able to make a symmetric mesh, perhaps by first generating the symmetric geometry but for that you must still write your own script code, what is fully possible.