Note: This discussion is about an older version of the COMSOL Multiphysics® software. The information provided may be out of date.

Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

Fluid Structure Interaction with Transport of diluted species

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

Hello,

I'm new to COMSOL and i'm trying to model the following: First of all i'm dealing with a microfluidic device capable of microfluid mixing. I start with a 2D Model with a rectangular body representing the fluid. Within the center of the fluid i placed a circle which represents a PMMA Particle. For the FSI i first started with the time dependent FSI model. For the particle i added a "Solid Mechanics -> Prediscribed Displacement" property with the following function for the displacement in the x-direction: 5[µm]*sin(1[1/s]*t) and 0 for the y-displacement.

These Settings worked fine for me but i got problems when i wanted to place the particle at the proximity of the fluid wall, lets say at a gap of about 1 nm or something like that. I guess, that there are some problems during the solving progress since the movement of the particle in vicinity to the wall induces a very strong buoyancy, i.e. the particle wants to move in the y-direction, but i'm not really sure about it at all.

As a result, i observed the typical behaviour of the lamellae velocity, which is exponentially decreasing along the y-direction und modulated with a periodic function, i.e. a sine.

In the next spet, i wanted to use the calculated velocity profile of the time dependent FSI simulation within a Transport of Diluted Species Simulation because i want to know, how the movement of the particle effects the mixing efficiency which is correlated to the mass transport within the device.