Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

Best Beginner Textbook for Comsol

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

Hello,

I am an aspiring chemical engineer in my junior year going for my Bachelors. This is the first summer I have free from taking classes and did not receive any internships so I want to learn how to use this program. I have taken classes on Transport Phenomena and my professor told me this would be a good program to learn in the field. I have not purchased a copy yet but I will try to see if my school will be able to get me a copy(of comsol). So back to the main question.. what is the best textbook to buy for a beginner like me? I have no idea where to start and I still have my transport phenomena textbook by Bird Stewart and Lightfoot that I can use for the math/physics in this program I believe. Thank you.

5 Replies Last Post May 18, 2012, 12:01 p.m. EDT
Jeff Hiller COMSOL Employee

Posted: 1 decade ago May 18, 2012, 9:32 a.m. EDT
Hello Jimmy,
OK, I am biased, but I would recommend COMSOL's 2-day Intensive training course over any textbook. It'll get you going much faster.
The course schedule is here: www.comsol.com/events/?type[]=course
Best,
Jeff
Hello Jimmy, OK, I am biased, but I would recommend COMSOL's 2-day Intensive training course over any textbook. It'll get you going much faster. The course schedule is here: http://www.comsol.com/events/?type[]=course Best, Jeff

Ivar KJELBERG COMSOL Multiphysics(r) fan, retired, former "Senior Expert" at CSEM SA (CH)

Posted: 1 decade ago May 18, 2012, 10:17 a.m. EDT
Hi

I agree with Jean-François the courses are excellent (and I'm not from COMSOL, I'm a user like you), unfortunately there are not that many books to start with, or too many not really for beginners.