Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

Heating A Silicon Waveguide Using Metal Heater

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

Hello. I am new to COMSOL and am trying to heat a waveguide with a metal heater. The model is 2D and in steady state. I am actually trying to reporduce the results of a paper which applies the following boundary conditions "The width and height of the heater are set to 5 µm and 0.2 µm, respectively. The silicon waveguide is situated 1 µm below the heater and the space between them is filled with silica. The boundaries of the simulation area are located 10 µm from each edge of the heater and are set to thermal insulation boundary condition. The initial values are set to zero and the heat flow is modeled by setting the temperature of heater as a function of voltage (equation attached below - I am using V=1 V due to steady state study)." The problem I am facing is that the heat does not flow outside the heater to the waveguide.

6 Replies Last Post Apr 18, 2023, 3:31 a.m. EDT
Jeff Hiller COMSOL Employee

Posted: 1 year ago Apr 14, 2023, 1:47 p.m. EDT
Updated: 1 year ago Apr 14, 2023, 2:54 p.m. EDT

Hello Ayesha,

You attached the wrong mph file. In any case, my first thought would be that you should contact the author(s) of the paper since they may be able to provide you with the actual file they based the paper on.

Best,

Jeff

-------------------
Jeff Hiller
Hello Ayesha, You attached the wrong mph file. In any case, my first thought would be that you should contact the author(s) of the paper since they may be able to provide you with the actual file they based the paper on. Best, Jeff

Posted: 1 year ago Apr 17, 2023, 2:39 a.m. EDT

I am reattaching the file for your ease. Can you please have a look?

I am reattaching the file for your ease. Can you please have a look?