Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

thermal Modelling

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

I'm new to COMSOL and I'm trying to model the temperature of a satellite when it becomes in contact with solar radiation. I have been trying to model a cube within a cube where I will use a face of the outer cube to radiate the solar heat flux into a face of the inner cube and determine the temperature. Do you have any suggestions as to how to go about it?

5 Replies Last Post Jan 5, 2023, 8:12 a.m. EST

Posted: 10 years ago Jul 10, 2014, 9:45 a.m. EDT
If you know the percentage of solar radiation that is absorbed by your surface, and the solar radiation power per surface area you can just use a single cube (your satelite), and add a Heat Flux boundary to the face that is irradiated by the sun.
If you know the percentage of solar radiation that is absorbed by your surface, and the solar radiation power per surface area you can just use a single cube (your satelite), and add a Heat Flux boundary to the face that is irradiated by the sun.

Posted: 10 years ago Jul 30, 2014, 5:56 a.m. EDT
basically I want to do it with whole satellite which includes all electronics subsystem, its size is about 10x10x10cm small satellite. what is the solar radiation power per surface area?? if you dont mind please explain me
basically I want to do it with whole satellite which includes all electronics subsystem, its size is about 10x10x10cm small satellite. what is the solar radiation power per surface area?? if you dont mind please explain me

Posted: 10 years ago Jul 30, 2014, 11:10 a.m. EDT