Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

How to apply the AT CUT QUARTZ material

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

Hello, all.

This is Yong Hoon Lee From Korea.

I'm a graduate from Kookmin University in Seoul.

I have a quesition "How to apply AT CUT QUARTZ material when the simulation is conducted"

Quartz material exists but I can't see the mateiral which is considered AT CUT anywhere.

Please let me know the method if you know that.

Thank you.

6 Replies Last Post Apr 23, 2012, 6:34 p.m. EDT
Ivar KJELBERG COMSOL Multiphysics(r) fan, retired, former "Senior Expert" at CSEM SA (CH)

Posted: 1 decade ago Sep 1, 2010, 1:23 a.m. EDT
Hi

I'm not fmiliar with quartz AT cut material, but for most crystals (such as Si that I do use) COMSOL have a normalised material tensor (if you engage the anisotropic material option) along x,y,z, you must then define your local coordinate(s) to align the tensor with the domain orientation of interest.

I assume therefore that you must define the AT cut direction w.r.t the tensor default coordinates, and then define a local coordinate system that takes the first material AT correction and the domain orientation into account

There is now in V4 a way to show the material orientation in the plot/postprocessing menus once solved, or at least initial conditions loaded (unfortunately not yet when you define the coordinate systems ;)

--
Good luck
Ivar