Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

Implementing Ogden's model for modeling compression response of Polyurethane foams in COMSOL

Balaji Ramanujakannan

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

Tech support team and other users,

I'm trying to implement Ogden's model for polyurethane elastic foams into COMSOL. Currently, I'm working with the structural mechanics module and trying to model the uniaxial compression stress-strain response of these foams. The tend to behave in a non-linear fashion and a typical stress-strain curve is attached herewith. As I'm new to COMSOL, can anyone suggest how to change the governing equations and boundary conditions and preferably some tutorial on the equation modification process.

Thanks in advance,
Balaji

4 Replies Last Post Jun 4, 2010, 4:54 a.m. EDT
Ivar KJELBERG COMSOL Multiphysics(r) fan, retired, former "Senior Expert" at CSEM SA (CH)

Posted: 1 decade ago Jun 1, 2010, 1:19 a.m. EDT
Hi

I believe you could start with entering the non linear curve into your material properties (ie. make a custom material), I would also suggest to start with an isotropic material (even if wrong) and when your happy with your model , only then make it anisotropic.
I do not think you need to change anything else. In fact, you do not even need to make a "custom material", you can start to define your "function" and type it straight into the subdomain material properties, but for later its usefull to enter as a custom material.

Be sure you understand the specific naming of COMSOL fo he different variables.

Like this I believe it should be rather staightforward.

And do not forget to give us some feedback, either here or at a Comsol conference, so we can learn too ;)

have fun Comsoling
Ivar